Understanding Your Natal Chart - Part I by Psychic Arthur

Published Date 6/26/2016
Category: Astrology

Your Natal Chart is like your very own celestial road map.

Author's Photo Get a Reading with Arthur x8237
When it comes to astrology and horoscopes, just about everyone knows their “sign,” referring to the sign of the Zodiac the Sun was in when they where born, also known as your Sun Sign. However, when it comes to your “sign,” there’s really so much more!

First of all, the reason an astrologer (or astrology website) will ask for your date of birth, as well as, the exact time of birth and the location you where born, is so they can create a Natal Chart or Birth Chart (that circle pie chart looking thing with all the signs of the zodiac and stuff) that specifically relates to you. And, like a snowflake, no two charts are the same. Think of your Natal Chart like your very own celestial road map that gives a look into your personality and character, in addition to forecasting major life events, by examining the position and location of the planets in the heavens when you where born.

The Big Circle
The three main parts of a natal chart are the signs, the planets, and the houses. Okay, think of a big circle, which represent you. Now, picture a horizontal line splitting that circle into two equal parts, which is the horizon line. The planets that were visible at the time you where born are places above the horizon line, while the planets that where not visible are placed below the horizon line. Next, the circle is divided equally into the twelve sections, which represent the 12 signs of the zodiac (also called houses, which we’ll explore tomorrow).

Your Sun Sign
First, there are 12 signs of the zodiac: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius, Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn, Gemini, Libra, Aquarius, Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. Their energies have a constant influence on your daily life. Your Sun Sign is perhaps the most import part of your chart since it represents who you are - your basic characteristics and identity; however, your Ascendant (or rising sign) and the sign of your Moon are the next two significant parts of your chart to understand, since they are vital in getting a more rounded viewpoint on your nature. Your Ascendant, affects how you present yourself to others (your self image), while your Moon reflects your emotional personality and behavior. 

Next, each planet in your natal chart denotes other aspects of your personality. The planets are grouped into two categories: Personal planets (Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, and Mars) and Outer planets (Jupiter, Neptune, Saturn, Uranus, and Pluto).

Personal Planets
Briefly, besides the Personal planets of the Sun and Moon: Mercury relates to a how you communicate and relate with others. Venus represents what you enjoy, value and appreciate. Mars represents your action and use of will, as well as, the desires as described by Venus. 

Outer Planets
Now, the Outer planets: Jupiter represents your growth, ability to mix with society and your life path. Saturn represents responsibilities, the rules you follow and the necessary restrictions imposed for the growth of your consciousness. Uranus represents your ability gain insight for life obstacles and new levels of understanding. Neptune represents your ideals and imagination, psychic abilities, and sense of harmony. And Pluto represents your process when it comes to inner growth and change. 

Tomorrow, we discuss what each one of “the houses” mean and represent in your natal chart. In the meantime, I’d suggest getting a copy of your Natal Chart and diving into it now that you know what you’re looking at! 

Stay amazing!

Share This Page

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. click here to login


View All Article Categories